Texta book club

Texta is no ordinary book club; it's for people who love art. We use fiction (mostly) to unpack the subjects, themes and emotions of art. Conversation is never colourless, and is facilitated by our brains trust from QUT Creative Industries, Education and Social Justice Faculty.

The evening commences with a brief tour of the current exhibition followed by a beverage of your choice and generous amounts of conversation about the book.

Sessions are held throughout the year in-person on Tuesday evenings  at QUT Art Museum and the William Robinson Gallery and online on Wednesday evenings. Most books can be purchased from the Bookshop at the QUT Depot or at QUT Art Museum.

Tuesday 6 April (in-person) and Wednesday 7 April (online), 6:15pm
William Robinson Gallery
Venice, by Nick Earls (from the Wisdom Tree series, five interconnected but separate novellas)

Tuesday 25 May (in-person) and Wednesday 26 May (online), 6:15pm
QUT Art Museum
The Yield, by Tara June Winch

Tuesday 13 July (in-person) and Wednesday 14 July (online), 6:15pm
QUT Art Museum
Song of the Crocodile by Nardi Simpson

Tuesday 14 September (in-person) and Wednesday 15 September (online), 6:15pm
QUT Art Museum
Dead bolt by Ella Jeffery

Tuesday 9 November (in-person) and Wednesday 10 November (online), 6:15pm
William Robinson Gallery
Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall
by Kazuo Ishiguro

Place

QUT Art Museum, William Robinson Gallery or online

Cost

Free